Incorporating the Six Tastes Into Your Meals

Incorporating the Six Tastes Into Your Meals

Incorporating all six tastes in your meals help unlock the nutritional value of various foods and also enhance the digestion process.
Adjusting the amounts to your personal constitution (dosha) will help you maintain balanced nutrition and good health, and feel satisfied overall.
As you can see below it’s simpler than you think to incorporate each of the Rasas (tastes) in your meals.

🍴 Sweet: wheat, rice, dairy, cereals, dates, pumpkins, carrots, maple syrup, salmon, beef and licorice root.

🍴 Sour: lemon, vinegars, tomatoes, pickled and fermented foods, tamarind, oranges, grapefruit, raisins, limes.

🍴 Salty: sea vegetables, celery, sea salt, tamari/soy sauce , black olives, Himalayan salt, rock salt.

🍴 Pungent: hot peppers, ginger, onions, garlic, mustard, and hot spices.

🍴 Bitter: kale, lettuce, chard, raddichio, arugula, turmeric, and green, black and most herbal teas.

🍴 Astringent: Unripe bananas, green grapes, pomegranates, cranberries, green beans, alfalfa sprouts, broccoli, avocado, lettuce, peas, cauliflower, potatoes, chicken, coriander, parsley.

A meal example with all 6 tastes – Chicken stir fry.
Sweet – Rice
Sour – Tamarind paste
Salty – Soy sauce
Pungent – chilli flakes
Bitter – chard
Astringent – broccoli beans chicken

Once you get in the swing of thinking about including all 6 tastes, you can start being really creative.